Two new books

Two new books I ordered on Amazon.com have arrived.

The Only Guide to a Winning Bond Strategy You’ll Ever Need : The Way Smart Money Preserves Wealth Today [Hardcover]
By: Larry E. Swedroe, Joseph H. Hempen

The Bogleheads’ Guide to Investing [Hardcover]
By: Taylor Larimore, Mel Lindauer, Michael LeBoeuf, John C. Bogle (Foreword)

Thanks to my friend who brought it back from the US, I could order it with free shipping. Local book stores sell them at about S$45++. Crazy price. I am reading Larry’s book. I am in need of some bond strategy for my portfolio.

By the way, when the tracking number from Amazon for the package arrived in my inbox, Gmail auto-generated a link at the side bar to take me directly to the UPS page, for tracking the package. I didn’t have to type the tracking number, just two mouse clicks. Cool.

4 responses to “Two new books

  1. Good to see your blog, choozm.

    Coincidentally, I ordered Larry’s bond book today. The book has been out for a while but I have never gotten around to ordering it.

    I also ordered “Beyond Oil : The View from Hubbert’s Peak” by Kenneth S. Deffeyes. It was a book I wanted to read but had deferred until the paperback (cheaper) version is out.

    Taylor’s book might be too ‘elementary’ for you. LOL

  2. I am not aware that Amazon will ship for free to Singapore? How does it work?

  3. Hi indexfundfan, welcome!

    I provided a friend’s US address for Amazon to send my books. My friend brought the books for me when he came back to Singapore, hence the “free shipping”. 🙂

    Chapter 2, 3 and 4 of Larry’s bond book is a tour de force in bond for me. See my summary here http://tinyurl.com/rbwob . He also recommended international bonds but did not suggest any amount in allocation. This is where I am stuck, and I can’t find any suggestion in Google or Diehards…

    Taylor’s book is for my family. I will probably read it to remind me of “simplicity”… so many choices (ETFs) nowadays, yet not quite accessible (in term of cost) to investors in Singapore.

  4. Pingback: The Mamak Stall Investor

Leave a Reply

