Portfolio activity, April-July 2009

Just to update my regular fund purchase in April. The asset allocation plan in April indicated top up required for asset classes:

  1. US
  2. Asia Pacific Ex Japan
  3. REIT

I have only bought REIT in April, while I was preparing for the funds for the rest. When the fund was ready, it was July and the asset allocation had changed due to the rise in Asian stock markets. The asset classes to top up in July was US equity only, for which I bought Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF (VTI).

As of 7-September-2009, my portfolio allocation is shown below.

Current Target
Equity 67% 75%
US 23% 25%
EU 14% 20%
JP 4% 5%
APEJ 8% 10%
SG 4% 5%
REIT 14% 10%
Fixed Income 33% 25%
Global 7% 10%
Asia 6% 5%
SG 13% 10%
Cash 7% 0%

The next regular fund purchase is in October. The 7% cash shown above is the savings for this coming purchase.

2 responses to “Portfolio activity, April-July 2009

  1. Hello,

    I am trying to follow the whole Saxo, DBS, POEMS here and on sgfunds:
    in 2008 you moved all your ETFs (but 1) to Saxo, since then your posts in sgfunds make me think you may not be on Saxo anymore.

    Saxo was advised to me by a trader friend, but I think Saxo is too pro for me and it seems confirmed by the people on sgfunds who make mistakes

    Can you tell us which broker(s) you are now using.

  2. Hi there,

    I still use Saxo for ETFs listed in US and UK. I use local brokers for Lyxor ETFs listed in SGX.

    Saxo comes with many fancy features that are built for traders, but not useful for normal investor like me. So I turn off most of them, just leave the essential buy/sell feature (so I un-pro a pro trading system). So it is still usable for me.

    As for potential mistakes, there are a few aspects in term of currency to consider. Currency denominated for the ETF, currency of Saxo cash account, currency of the cheque you deposit into the cash account. For me, I set SGD as the currency of cash account, and use SGD cheque to deposit into the SGD cash account. I also leave the margin account empty. This avoids confusion in currency conversion and avoids utilization of margin account. So far, I don’t have problem with Saxo.

    Disclaimer: no vested interest in Saxo.

Leave a Reply

