Lower commission for stocks traded in London Stock Exchange

I received this email from Saxo last week:

… the minimum commissions charged on stocks traded on the following exchanges will be lower from 1 May 2010:

  • Euronext Amsterdam (AMS) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • Euronext Brussels (BRU) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • Euronext Lisbon (LISB) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • Euronext Paris (PAR) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • Frankfurt/Xetra Stock Exchange (FSE) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • London International Exchange (LSE_INT) from USD 40 to USD 20
  • London Stock Exchange (LSE_SETS) from GBP 15 to GBP 8
  • Milano Stock Exchange (MIL) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • OMX Helsinki (HSE) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • Sistema De Interconexion Bursatil Espanol (SIBE) from EUR 20 to EUR 12
  • Swiss Virt-X (VX) from CHF 30 to CHF 18
  • Swiss Exchange (SWX) from CHF 30 to CHF 18
  • Wiener Börse – Vienna Stock Exchange (VIE) from EUR 20 to EUR 12

Saxo Capital Markets will raise the minimum commissions charged on stocks traded on the OMX Copenhagen Stock Exchange (CSE) from DKK 19 to DKK 29.

The reduction of commission for London stock exchange is almost half. Great! Now I only need half of the previous investment amount to achieve the same ‘sales charge’.

With this low commission, I may also consider bond ETF in London stock exchange when I need to add to my global bond asset class. Currently I use unit trust fund for global bond asset class. Below are the global bond ETFs in London stock exchange that I may use:

7 responses to “Lower commission for stocks traded in London Stock Exchange

  1. About the minimum commission for LSE, Saxo today informed me that it is still 15 GBP. So I’m confused now!

    I do want to take this opportunity to thank you for your informative blog 🙂

  2. Hi Chan H,

    Thanks for the info and thanks for visiting!

  3. I previously commented as Chan H. Since my comment I’ve actually bought IMEU and the commission was 8 GBP! Quite bizarre, and makes me wonder about the local Saxo staff.

    Anyway, I’d like to reassure momo on sgfunds about this, but unfortunately a glitch on the forum does not allow me to register.

  4. Pingback: Global bond ETF in London Stock Exchange | The Mamak Stall Investor

  5. London International Exchange (LSE_INT) from USD 40 to USD 20
    London Stock Exchange (LSE_SETS) from GBP 15 to GBP 8

    Just wondering, how come there are two exchanges? Which rates are Singapore investors subject to should we invest on the LSE?

Leave a Reply

